3rd Annual Meeting Slides Available

Published: Wednesday, March 30 2011



The UK thromboprophylaxis forum held its 3rd annual meeting "Sharing Good Practice" in London on 11th March 2011 

Professor David Fitzmaurice

Co-chairman of steering committee


Welcome and Update about the forum

Dr Raza Alikhan

Consultant Haematologist, University Hospital of Wales

Update on the UKTP forum website and future plans


Mr Tim Brown

National VTE Prevention Programme Lead, Dept Health

National VTE prevention programme - history and update


Professor Beverly Hunt

Professor of Thrombosis, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Trust

The politics of VTE prevention


Professor Mike Greaves

Head of Medicine, Univeristy of Aberdeen

SIGN Guideline


Dr Roopen Arya

Consultant Haematologist, King's College Hospital

Update on CQUIN and next year


Dr Robin Offord

Clinical Pharmacist, University College Hospital

The role of the pharmacist in delivering thromboprophylaxis


Professor David Fitzmaurice 


VTE in the community


Professor Simon Frostick

Professor of Orthopaedics, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

New oral anticoagulants and thromboprophylaxis 


Miss Peggy Edwards

Programme Manager HAT 1000 Lives Plus



Dr Peter Woodhouse

Consultant in Medicine for the Elderly, Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital

Undertaking root cause analysis


 Dr Tim Noakes

Consultanat Haematologist, Derriford Hospital

 Hospital Acquired Thrombosis


Miss Sue Bacon

Thrombosis Nurse Specialist, North Bristol NHS Trust

 Achieving CQUIN


Built and supported by Escrivo.